The British Royal Family

The Royal Family, otherwise known as the British Monarchy has been ruling over the UK since 871 when King Alfred the Great was recognised as the first British Monarch or King of England. The current British Monarch stands as Queen Elizabeth II who has two main roles, one of which is official and one of which is unofficial. The official role is head of state, the unofficial role is head of the nation.

Head of state
This role is what gives the British Monarch the power to appoint Prime Ministers and approve legislation as well as bestow honours. On top of this they also have official roles to play in other organisations, which includes the Armed Forces and the Church of England.

Head of nation
The role of the British Monarch when it comes to the less official role of head of nation is when the British Monarch acts as a focus for national identity, unity and pride. The role also includes providing a sense of stability and continuity. It is also within this role that the British Monarch recognises success and excellence and supports public and voluntary services.

Members of the Royal Family
When the Queen is however carrying out her duties she is supported by other working members of the Royal Family. They help with carrying out a wide range of public engagements and involvements with charities as well as personal interests. The Royal Family however is a large one and one that dates back years and years. Currently the Royal Family is made up of the Queen and her consort, The Duke of Edinburgh as well as the following:

The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall who are The Queen’s eldest son and his second wife
Prince William of Wales and Prince Harry of Wales who are The Prince of Wales son’s
The Duke of York – The Queen’s second son
Princess Beatrice of York and Princess Eugenie of York – The Duke of York’s daughters
The Earl and Countess of Wessex who are The Queen’s third son and his wife
Viscount Severn, the Earl of Wessex’s son and Lady Louise Windsor, the Earl of Wessex’s daughter
The Princess Royal – The Queen’s daughter
The Duke and Duchess of Gloucester and The Duke and Duchess of Kent and Princess Alexandra, The Honourable Lady Ogilvy who are the Queens cousins and their spouses.

Within the UK there is no strict legal or definition of who is considered to be a Royal Family member. However those who carry the titles HM – His or Her Majesty or HRM – His or Her Royal Highness are always considered members and all of the above have one of these titles.

The British Monarch – Queen Elizabeth II
Queen Elizabeth II is the head of the British Royal Family and has reigned for 57 years. She is the 32nd great-granddaughter of King Alfred the Great who as I previously mentioned was the first effective King of England during the years of 871-899. She has four children and eight grandchildren and is 83 years old.

Queen Elizabeth II has broken several records. She has become the first reigning monarch to have been married for 60 years. In December 2007 she became the oldest reigning British Monarch and has even outlived her great, great grandmother Queen Victoria. Also in March 2007 Queen Elizabeth II become the 3rd longest reigning monarch in over 1,200 years of British history.

The Royal Family have been a part of the UK for hundreds of years and the British Monarchy also represents several other countries, making it one of the biggest monarchy’s in the world and the title of Queen or King of England will continue to be passed through the family for as long as the blood line continues.

Lisa Mills runs two websites, one selling baby gifts and the other promoting childrens gift ideas.

May 8, 2017